Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from February, 2016
(Patna) “I am a housewife. My husband works in Delhi and I live here with my mother. I have three sons; one is good in studies while the other two are mischievous.”
(Patna) “I work in a girls’ hostel. My daughter is 12 years old and is intellectually disabled. I try to keep her as comfortable as possible. Until I am alive I will also keep providing her with knowledge. I have a son too. My husband died a long time ago. It is very difficult to manage an entire family on one woman’s salary. Sometimes I do feel helpless but there is no option.”
(Patna) “I go to school and I study A, B, C, D and tables in Maths. We are four friends - Anu, Nibha, Rakhi and me. I go to school every day. After I come back, I have lunch, study for a bit and then play. I want to become a teacher.”
(Patna) “I also work as a domestic help. I have studied till Standard 8. I couldn’t study further as there was no time. My parents are taking care of all of my wedding preparations. I did ask my fiancĂ© to reconsider the amount asked in the proposal but he said that it is not in his hands. I feel very unhappy when I see that my mother and everyone in the family is worried. Though I am worried as well, I feel a little excited too. My fiancĂ© is nice and has told me that he will keep me well.” (2/2)
(Patna) “I am a domestic help. I am worried about my daughter’s wedding. I am trying to arrange Rs. 5 lakhs for her wedding. I am giving Rs. 1.5 lakhs cash, 30 grams of gold, one motorcycle, and other household goods like a cooler, some furniture and utensils. The boy’s family seemed nice, and so we agreed to their proposal. I gave cash and household items at my older daughter’s wedding also but I didn’t take anything in my son’s wedding. The date of the wedding is approaching and I have not managed to arrange any money so far. I keep thinking about it. I have left everything to God now.” (1/2)
(Patna) “I am a lawyer by profession but I am not practicing right now. I took a break after five years of practice and went to Cambridge University (U.K.) for my Masters degree in law. Recently I started travelling a lot within India and in neighbouring countries; it is very challenging to explain to people why I like to travel so much. If a girl travels alone in our country, it raises a lot of stereotypical questions such as 'how can a girl travel solo in India?'. I have traveled alone in Paris and some do not consider it a very safe city. So if you can manage alone in cities abroad, then I think you can manage here too.”
(Patna) I am a hair dresser and I have been working for the past 13 years now. I started working after class 10in a salon. I told myself: ‘it is alright, there are a lot of people who have to work out of necessity and my family needed my support’. At that point in time, it was very challenging to grow in this profession in Patna as there was no training institute or centre. I also realized there were a lot of prejudices against this profession. Working in a salon meant that you were perceived to be unable do anything else in life and were also viewed to be part of a prostitution racket. There was no respect. But gradually, when I started going to big cities and abroad for trainings, I realized there was a lot of scope in this profession. I also questioned if this was such a low level job, then how come doctors, engineers and scientists are involved and creating beauty products and equipment.  After I got married, I thought I might have to give up my work, but my husband was very suppor…
(Patna) "I have been working as a beautician for the last six years. When my daughter was two years old, she fell down and hurt her right eye. She cannot see from that eye anymore. I spent a lot of money on her checkups, but the doctors told me that her eye has to be operated upon. I don’t have enough money for that operation. She likes studying and I am sending her to a private school."
(Patna) “I started working in 1992 on issues related to violence against women in Bihar. The community in which my colleagues and I started working had a number of child rape cases but no one ever reported those to the police as they were scared of the local goons. We started creating awareness about laws made for women through street plays, workshops and training.In these training women started talking about incidents of rape of little girls. We worked in the community for years and built trust. Gradually, people came forward with their cases, and we got FIRs registered and followed the cases in court. Most of the cases that we received were of dalit women and children.   
We also worked on issues related to dayan pratha (witchcraft). In one of the most appalling cases, a woman was declared to be a witch because of a boy who she had warned not to climb up on a tree had fallen down and died. She was then brutally raped by 5 men at her home and sexually assaulted with a stick. The pol…
(Patna) “I want to become a doctor”
(Patna) “I have studied designing and am preparing for competitive exams. I want to do management. I am facing a lot of challenges. I lost my father in July last year. My mother is all alone so she wants me to get married as soon as possible. Even I want to settle down but I want to continue studying too. Had my father been here, I could have easily convinced him.”
(Patna) “I work as a domestic help. My husband left me when our children were very young. I have raised my two sons on my own.”
(Patna) “I take care of new born babies.”
(Patna) “I am a mehendi artist. Sometimes I get 10 people in a day and sometimes no one comes for 2-3 days. I have been putting mehendi for last 15 years. I was the first person to start in this market place. The shopkeepers around are very helpful, they keep my stuff in their shops when I leave in the evening.”